From Student Engagement to Student-driven Learning

What happens when you have the courage to ask your students what engages them? A veteran educator shares 10 insights.

A while back, I was asked, “What engages students?” Sure, I could respond, sharing anecdotes about what I believed to be engaging, but I thought it would be so much better to lob that question to my own eighth graders. The responses I received from all 220 of them seemed to fall under 10 categories, representing reoccuring themes that appeared again and again. So, from the mouths of babes, here are my students’ answers to the question: “What engages students?”

Read

Read also: Golden Rules for Engaging Students in Learning Activities

Inquiry-Based Learning: From Teacher-Guided to Student-Driven

About Giorgio Bertini

Director at Learning Change Project - Research on society, culture, art, neuroscience, cognition, critical thinking, intelligence, creativity, autopoiesis, self-organization, rhizomes, complexity, systems, networks, leadership, sustainability, thinkers, futures ++
This entry was posted in Schooling, Schools, Student, Student engagement, Student-driven learning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.